Author Archives: adamdane

Creasy Receives Marion Teaching Award at 2018 Ag Convocation

Dr. Rebecca Creasy, Lecturer in the Department of Nutrition and Food Science, received the Gail W. and David P. Marion ’65 Teaching Award in Memory of Dr. Richard C. Potts ’45 at the Texas A&M University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences’ 61st Annual Convocation on Saturday, April 14, 2018. The award is given to a professor who is an exceptional teacher and who has demonstrated outstanding mentorship to underclassmen in our college. It was established by the Marion family through the Association of Former Students of Texas… Read More →

Study shows mango consumption has positive impact on inflammatory bowel disease

Dr. Susanne Talcott has recently published the initial results from a study linking a positive effect on IBD with increased consumption of mangos. Congratulations Dr. Talcott!   Click here to read more

2017 SEBM Young Investigator Award

Derek Seidel was selected to receive a 2017 Young Investigator Award from the Society of Experimental Biology and Medicine (SEBM) at this year’s Experimental Biology conference held in Chicago, IL. Derek’s presentation was entitled, “Dried Plums Modify the Colon Luminal Metabolome in a Rat Model of Colon Carcinogenesis.”

Announcing the 2017 Grand Prize for Young Minority Investigator

Congratulations to Erika L Garcia-Villatora for being selected as the 2017 recipient of the ASN Grand Prize for Young Minority Investigators, sponsored by DSM Nutritional Products. Erika’s presentation was entitled ‘The aryl hydrocarbon receptor is a repressor of colorectal cancer development induced by a high-fat diet in mice’. Click here to read the DSM announcement

Senator Phil Gramm Doctoral Fellowship

Kristen Hicks, a PhD student under Dr. Peter Murano is a recipent of the prestigious 2017 U.S. Senator Phil Gramm Doctoral Fellowship. The Fellowship recognizes Kristen’s outstanding academic record and contributions in research, teaching, and mentoring. She was honored April 6th at an Awards Ceremony held at the Stark Galleries, MSC. Congratulations Kristen Hicks and Dr. Peter Murano!