Category Archives: awards

Yagmur Yegin receives multiple accolades in 2017

Yagmur Yegin, a doctoral student at Texas A&M University was selected to receive the following awards in the year 2017. 2017 – ‘Susan M. Arseven ‘75 Make-A-Difference Memorial Award’ Recipient from Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) This award seeks to encourage women students pursuing advanced degrees in science and engineering fields.     2017 – Peanut Proud Scholarship Award – IAFP Annual Meeting in Tampa, FL, July 9-12, 2017 The scholarship is sponsored by Peanut Proud, Inc. to reward a selected U.S. graduate student who recognizes the importance… Read More →

2017 SEBM Young Investigator Award

Derek Seidel was selected to receive a 2017 Young Investigator Award from the Society of Experimental Biology and Medicine (SEBM) at this year’s Experimental Biology conference held in Chicago, IL. Derek’s presentation was entitled, “Dried Plums Modify the Colon Luminal Metabolome in a Rat Model of Colon Carcinogenesis.”

Announcing the 2017 Grand Prize for Young Minority Investigator

Congratulations to Erika L Garcia-Villatora for being selected as the 2017 recipient of the ASN Grand Prize for Young Minority Investigators, sponsored by DSM Nutritional Products. Erika’s presentation was entitled ‘The aryl hydrocarbon receptor is a repressor of colorectal cancer development induced by a high-fat diet in mice’. Click here to read the DSM announcement

Senator Phil Gramm Doctoral Fellowship

Kristen Hicks, a PhD student under Dr. Peter Murano is a recipent of the prestigious 2017 U.S. Senator Phil Gramm Doctoral Fellowship. The Fellowship recognizes Kristen’s outstanding academic record and contributions in research, teaching, and mentoring. She was honored April 6th at an Awards Ceremony held at the Stark Galleries, MSC. Congratulations Kristen Hicks and Dr. Peter Murano!

Brown-Rudder Award Winner

Texas A&M University has presented one of its top student awards — recognizing outstanding accomplishments in academics, leadership and service by Kallie Fuchs of Burton, a Nutrition Science Major who graduated on Friday, May 13th.  Kallie received the prestigious Brown-Rudder Award presented annually to two candidates recognized for their exemplification of the leadership and dedication to academics and Texas A&M University. The award was approved by President Michael K. Young and presented at the Learning communities, Academic excellence, Undergraduate research opportunities, National fellowships, Capstones and Honors programs (LAUNCH)… Read More →

First Place at South Central Regional IFT College Bowl

Congratulations to our College Bowl team on winning first place in the South Central Region competition on April, 8 2016. Their next competition will be at nationals, in Chicago! Since 1985, the IFTSA College Bowl Competition has tested the knowledge of student teams from across the United States in the areas of food science and technology, history of foods and food processing, food law, and general IFT/food-related trivia. The College Bowl is designed to facilitate interaction among students from different universities, stimulate the students’ desire to accumulate and retain… Read More →

2016 Red Dress Award-Dr. Joanne Lupton

Dr. Joanne Lupton was honored with the 2016 Red Dress Award, at Lincoln Center, on Tuesday February 9th. The Red Dress Awards is an event that Woman’s Day holds annually to spotlight doctors, researchers and advocates who are making a difference in the fight against heart disease in women. Click on the following link to view more information:

2015 Texas A&M AgriLife Vice Chancellor’s Awards in Excellence

Established in 1980, this awards program recognizes the commitment and outstanding contributions of faculty and staff across Texas A&M AgriLife. Three Nutrition and Food Science professionals were recognized on January 14, 2016 with a 2015 Vice Chancellor’s Award in Excellence and AgriLife Faculty Fellow.   Graduate Student Teaching-Ms. Rachel M. Botchlett Since Ms. Botchlett began her Ph.D. in Nutrition in Fall 2011, she has contributed significantly to the excellence in teaching in her department. Her first teaching experience at Texas A&M was in Nutrition 202, which has been… Read More →

National Cancer Institute’s Outstanding Investigator Award

Congratulations Dr. Chapkin on receiving the National Cancer Institute’s Outstanding Investigator Award (R35) in cancer research. This very prestigious award is given to “an exceptional and long-established cancer researcher who has been continuously funded by the NIH.” This support is intended to encourage investigators to embark on long-term projects of unusual potential. The award will fund Dr. Chapkin’s cancer research program for 7 years for a total of $6.2 million.

International Polyphenols and Health Conference

Dr. Hyemee Kim, PostDoc of Dr. Susanne Talcott, won a poster presentation travel award at the International Polyphenols and Health Conference in Tours, France, 2015.